Coffee with grandpa J.

Coffee with grandpa J.

So, this morning I was looking at an awesome blog that my friend Katie introduced me to. It’s really relaxing and has some of the most beautiful photos I’ve ever seen. You should be able to click the picture and it take you there, but I’ll post the link at the end of this just in case it doesn’t work.

Anyway. . .

When I saw this picture I froze. I IMMEDIATELY thought of my grandpa J who passed away some years back from lung cancer. ( I hate cancer. Who doesn’t?) I thought, oh what I would give to be able to sit down at this table with him and a cup of coffee and just talk about anything and everything. We always did that. We talked every day on the phone. He wrote me letters. I wrote back. We had a relationship that I will cherish forever. He was my best friend, my rock, my motivation. . . He always wanted me to go to college and go as far as I possibly could in life. And I’m doing it but he’s not here to share that with and it makes me so mad some days. He was sarcastic as hell and most labeled him as a grumpy old man but he wasn’t. And you knew that if you knew HIM. He would say things just to get that wide-eyed shocked look out of people. He loved to get people all irritated so he could laugh at them for getting irritated. That must be where I get that from. I miss him dearly. I miss our talks. I miss. . . everything. I want to hear how he’s liking Heaven and what the view is like from up there. I want to tell him all I’ve experienced in life all these years without him. I want him to meet my daughters. I want to sit back and watch a conversation happen between him and my husband because those two would be hilarious to watch go back and forth.

I miss you grandpa J. There’s not a day that goes by I don’t think about you. Love you to the moon and back.

Here’s the link to that blog just in case you can’t click on the picture and it take you there. It’s really worth checking out if you’re into pretty things. 🙂

http://all-things-bright-and-beyootiful.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

