Anti-Bucket List: 10 Things I hope I NEVER do before I die.

1.)  Give up on something just because I’m not seeing successful results immediately.

Image

2.)  Eat salmon.  I don’t like the way it smells, looks, no matter how it’s cooked up.  NO THANK YOU.

Image

3.)  Disappoint my kids by trying to be the picture perfect family.  I know I’ll never be perfect.  I will never make all the right decisions when it comes to raising my children but I hope that I’m always quick to say sorry and be honest with my kids.  I have to remember that they are looking up to me and their dad.  They aren’t looking for us to be perfect.  They want us to be human beings who don’t try to sugar coat life.  They just want us to understand them and they want to understand us.  We will fail as parents, a lot, but it’s okay to let our kids see that.  The important part is letting them see how we picked up and kept moving even though we screwed up.  I NEVER want to disappoint them by being fake.  Ever.

Image

 

4.)  Be a compulsive liar.  Let’s be honest.  There are times that we feel the need to tell “white lies”.  We all do it.  But if you’re like me, you feel awful when you do.  I can’t stand lying, not even little ones.  A lie is a lie.  But, there are times, especially if I don’t know you that well, and you ask me if something looks good on you, there is no way I’m going to tell you that it looks awful.  You have to reach “friend status” before I’ll tell you something looks like crap.  I’m not condoning lying at all, but what I never want to be is a compulsive liar.  I know several, and I can’t describe the hurt I’ve faced from them.

Image

5.)  Swim with sharks. I’m not even gonna elaborate why I never want to do this.  It’s obvious.

Image

 

6.)  Become too big for my britches.  And I don’t mean gain weight.  I mean, with my books becoming more well known, I don’t want to let that change who I am or ever think I’m “too important” or whatever.  I just want to be me and love writing stories that others can enjoy.  While I welcome all awesome opportunities that may come my way, I never want them to alter who I am.

Image

7.)  Change me to please others.  This kind of is the same as #6.  I never want to change me to please everyone else.  This is why I adore my husband.  He has always loved me for ME. During life we all grow into who we are.  In school we are so confused about who we are and we change friends, change ourselves, and dress a certain way to please others.  Such a confusing and weird experience most of us have to face.  But as we get older, pay our own bills, have kids, get married, we start doing things for ourselves because it makes US happy, not others.  We learn that the opinion of others doesn’t matter and that our opinions about ourselves DOES matter.  I never want to go through my teen faze again.  I like who I am and no matter where I go in life, I hope I am ALWAYS me.

Image

 

8.)  Stop dating my husband.  I never want to think I’ve reached a point in my marriage where I don’t have to “date” my husband.  I want to keep flirting with him, find new ways to make him smile, go on dates with him, and making sure he knows how much I love him. I love that this man still makes butterflies appear in multitudes in my tummy every time I see him.  I hope I always do the same for him.

Image

 

9.)  Become materialistic.  We all love stuff.  Stuff, stuff, stuff, and more STUFF.  But I always want to realize how rich I am non-materialistic wise. Stuff is great but family and REAL friends are much greater.

Image

 

10.)  Go camping in a jungle.  Pythons, large bugs, and PYTHONS oh my!  Nope.  Never.  Not even if someone paid me a billion dollars.  NOT EVEN FOR ONE NIGHT, would I ever go camping in a jungle. Ever.

Image

 

So, that’s my 10 things I hope I NEVER do before I die.  What are yours?

Leave a Reply

